Expenses, Tuition, and Fees
On This Page:
- Estimated Expenses
- Tuition and Fees
- Special Tuition and Fee Programs, Waivers, and Exemptions
- Reduced-Fee Part-Time Study Program
- Tuition and Fee Reduction for Staff and Academic Employees
- Exceptions from Nonresident Supplemental Tuition
- Exceptions from Tuition and Fees
- California Residence and Nonresident Supplemental Tuition
- Laws Governing Residence
- Who is a Resident?
- Requirements for Financial Independence
- Establishing Intent to become a California Resident
- General Rules Applying to Minors
- Specific Rules Applying to Minors
- Exemptions from Nonresident Supplemental Tuition
- Temporary Absences
- Change in Resident Classification
- Incorrect Classification
- Inquiries and Appeals
- Tuition and Fee Refunds
The range of estimated nine-month expenses, including projected tuition, fees, books and supplies, room and board, and miscellaneous expenses for California-resident students attending UCI during the 2016-17 academic year are shown in the following chart. Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice, and the university may impose additional fees.
Expenses for students living off campus vary depending upon number of roommates, location of apartment, amenities and other factors. Graduate student expenses assume two students sharing a two-bedroom apartment. All other on- and off-campus estimates are based on two students sharing a bedroom. Figures are based on periodic surveys and are adjusted for inflation for years when surveys are not conducted. These are intended only as a guide in computing average expenses.
|California-Resident Student Status||Living Arrangement||Estimated Nine-Month Expenses|
|Graduate||On campus – Verano||$36,354.50|
|On campus – Campus Village||$37,357.50|
|On campus – Palo Verde||$36,578.50|
Tuition and Fees
All tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change without notice, and the University may impose additional tuition and fees. Consult the University Registrar’s website for the most up-to-date information.
|Student Services Fee||$1,128.00||$1,128.00|
|Associated Students Fee||$54.00||$54.00|
|UCI Student Center Fee||$409.50||$409.50|
|Bren Events Center Fee||$69.00||$69.00|
|Recreation Center Fee||$264.00||$264.00|
|Campus Spirit Fee||$99.00||$99.00|
|Measure S Fee||$24.00||$24.00|
|Anteater Express Fee||$120.00||$120.00|
|Measure U Fee||$2.97||$2.97|
|Club Sports Fee||$10.50||$10.50|
|Food Pantry Fee||$9.21||$9.21|
|eTech Fee 3||varies||varies|
|UG Student Health Insurance Plan Fee 4||$1,675.00||$1,675.00|
|Nonresident Supplemental Tuition||----------||$28,014.00|
|Student Services Fee||$1,128.00||$1,128.00|
|Associated Graduate Student Fee||$27.00||$27.00|
|UCI Student Center Fee||$409.50||$409.50|
|Bren Events Center Fee||$69.00||$69.00|
|Recreation Center Fee||$264.00||$264.00|
|Grad. Student Health Insurance Plan Fee 4||$3,921.00||$3,921.00|
|Nonresident Supplemental Tuition||--------||$15,102.00|
Student fees shown are based on three quarters of attendance.
The exact cost of attending UCI varies by program. Students in state supported professional programs including the Full-time M.B.A., J.D., M.D., Master's in Public Health, Master's in Public Policy, M.S. in Biomedical and Translational Sciences, M.S. in Biotechnology Management, M.S. in Engineering Management, M.S. in Genetic Counseling, M.S. in Nursing Science, Master of Urban and Regional Planning, and self-supporting professional programs including the Executive M.B.A., Health Care Executive M.B.A. and Fully-Employed M.B.A. programs, Master of Professional Accounting., Master of Finance, M.S. Business Analytics, M.A.S. in Criminology, Law and Society, Master of Legal and Forensic Psychology, Master of Embedded & Cyber Physical Systems, Master of Computer Science, Master of Human-Computer Interaction and Design, Master of Laws, M.S. Pharmacology and Master of Conservation and Restoration Science should refer to the tuition and fee information posted on the University Registrar’s website.
The nonrefundable eTech fee is $4 per undergraduate lecture course unit, up to a maximum of $60 per quarter or $180 per year.
The Undergraduate and Graduate Student Health Insurance Plan fees included in the fee tables are the 2016-17 rates and the fee levels for 2017-18 are subject to change without notice.
The mandatory campus-based fees listed above (Associated Students Fee, Student Center Fee, Bren Events Center Fee, Recreation Center Fee, Campus Spirit Fee, Measure S Fee, TGIF Fee, Anteater Express Fee, Measure U Fee, Club Sports Fee, SOAR Fee and Food Pantry Fee) include all currently approved fees.
Tuition and fees for each quarter are due and payable in advance within deadlines published in the Quarterly Academic Calendar on the University Registrar’s website. A student will not be officially registered in classes until tuition and fees are paid in full, with the exception of students who are participating in the PACE Plan.
Continuing and returning students are required to pay all outstanding fines and other debts in full before they pay their tuition and fees for an upcoming term.
Information about tuition and fee refunds appears later in this section.
Tuition provides general support for the University’s operating budget, including costs related to instruction, and funds student financial aid. Graduate students studying out of the State may be eligible to pay 15 percent of tuition. M.D. students are required to pay the full tuition for each quarter in which they enroll, including the summer quarter. The summer quarter tuition level for M.D. students will be the same as that of the previous spring quarter.
The Student Services Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken, unless otherwise noted. This fee is a charge to each student for co-curricular programs, activities, and services which benefit the student and which are complementary to, but not a part of, the instructional programs. A portion of the fee is returned to support student financial aid. No part of this fee is refundable to students who do not use all or any of these services. Graduate students studying out of the State may be eligible to pay 15 percent of the Student Services Fee. M.D. students are required to pay the full Student Services Fee for each fall, winter, and spring quarter, and a reduced Student Services Fee of $80 for each summer quarter.
The Associated Students Fee is administered by the Associated Students of UCI, the Associated Graduate Students, The Merage Student Association, and the Associated Medical Students. These funds provide social activities, lectures, forums, concerts, and other activities at either a reduced charge, or no charge, to UCI students. The fees are required of all students.
The UCI Student Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken. The fee is used to pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs, to fund operating costs, and to fund major repairs and maintenance expenses of the UCI Student Center.
The Bren Events Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to maintain the Bren Events Center and to pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs of the Bren Events Center.
The Recreation Center Fee is required of all students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to operate, maintain, and pay the debt service on revenue bonds sold to finance the construction costs of the Student Recreation Center and Athletics facilities improvements.
The Campus Spirit Fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to support Athletics and Campus Spirit Programs.
The Measure S Fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to support, upgrade, and expand the ASUCI Express Shuttle.
The Green Initiative Fund (TGIF) Fee is required of all undergraduate students for the fall, winter, and spring quarters regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to support undergraduate student efforts to reduce the campus’s environmental footprint and to promote sustainable educational projects at UCI.
The Anteater Express Fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The purpose of the fee is to support the Anteater Express campus shuttle service. The fee revenue is used to fund expenses including, but not limited to, fleet replacement, disability services, and route expansion. This initiative differs from the current Measure S Fee in that the funds may be spent more broadly and the funds are also overseen by a funding board.
The Measure U Fee is required of all undergraduate students for the fall, winter, and spring quarters regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The purpose of the fee is to support the New University, the official UCI student newspaper. The fee revenue is used to provide support for the New University operational expenses.
The Club Sports Fee is required of all undergraduate students for the fall, winter, and spring quarters regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The purpose of the fee is to provide a permanent source of operating and programming support for the Club Sports Program at UCI. The fee revenue will be used to fund expenses such as, but not limited to, coaching, cost of equipment and uniforms, tournament fees, travel expenses, events facility rentals and basic-level league dues for all clubs in the Club Sports Program.
The SOAR Fee is required of all undergraduate students for the fall, winter, spring, and summer quarters regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The purpose of the fee is to provide a permanent source of operating and programming support for the Student Outreach and Retention (SOAR) Center. The fee revenue is used for, but not limited to, funding student-initiated outreach and retention efforts, expanding current services and programs, and providing leadership and development opportunities for students.
The Food Pantry Fee is required of all undergraduate students for the fall, winter, spring and summer quarters regardless of the number courses taken or units carried. The purpose of the fee is to cover the expenses of operating the current food pantry which provides non-perishable food to students who experience food insecurity.
The eTech Fee is a nonrefundable per-unit fee, required of all students enrolled in undergraduate lecture courses during the fall, winter, and spring quarters. The fee is used to fund the UC Irvine Educational Technology Initiative maintaining and improving existing educational technology, and providing new educational technology services and capabilities supporting the educational goals of UCI students. The fee is $4 per unit of undergraduate lecture course, up to a maximum amount of $60 (or 15 units) per quarter. It will be assessed after the third week of instruction. Further information is available at the eTech website.
The Undergraduate Student Health Insurance Plan Fee is charged over three quarters (fall, winter, and spring) to provide 12-month coverage from September through August. The fee is required of all undergraduate students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to provide undergraduate students with health insurance. If students provide evidence of comparable coverage from another source, participation in the mandatory plan may be waived. This fee is subject to change pending the outcome of negotiations with insurance carriers.
The Graduate Student Health Insurance Plan Fee is charged over three quarters (fall, winter, and spring) to provide 12-month coverage from September through August. First-year law and medical students who matriculate prior to September, any returning students not enrolled in the previous spring quarter, and transfer students must also pay a prorated GSHIP premium in addition to the fall premium. The fee is required of all graduate and medical students regardless of the number of courses taken or units carried. The fee is used to provide graduate and medical students with health insurance. If students provide evidence of comparable coverage from another source, participation in the mandatory plan may be waived. This fee is subject to change pending the outcome of negotiations with insurance carriers.
The Medical Student Disability Insurance Fee is required of all medical students. The entire annual fee is charged for the fall quarter.
The Professional Degree Supplemental Tuition is required of all students in the state-supported full-time M.B.A., J.D., M.D., Master's in Public Health, Master's in Public Policy, M.S. in Biotechnology Management, M.S. in Engineering Management, M.S. in Genetic Counseling, M.S. in Nursing Science and Master of Urban and Regional planning programs, regardless of the number of units taken.
A $1,500 advance deposit on the Professional Degree Supplemental Tuition is required of all new M.B.A. students upon their acceptance of admission. This deposit is nonrefundable.
|Changes in Class Enrollment after Announced Dates (each transaction)||$3.00|
|Credit by Examination (each petition)||$5.00|
|Late Payment of Tuition and Fees||$50.00|
|Late Enrollment in Classes||$50.00|
|Returned Check Collection||$25.00|
|Student Parking Permits 1|
|- Zone Commuter, monthly (2017-18 TBD)||$70.00|
|- Zone Commuter, Preferred, Monthly (2017-18 TBD)||$89.00|
|- Resident, monthly (2017-18 TBD)||$101.00|
In addition, students may be assessed a course materials fee. Consult the online Schedule of Classes for courses requiring the fee and the fee level.
In accordance with Regents policy, UC parking systems are self-supporting auxiliary enterprises receiving no State appropriations. Visit the Transportation and Distribution Services website for fee levels of other types of parking permits. Prices shown are for 2016–17 and are subject to change for 2017–18.
|Application Fee (nonrefundable in all cases) 1,2|
|- International Undergraduate||$80.00|
|- Domestic Graduate 3||$105.00|
|- International Graduate 3||$125.00|
|- Secondary Application Fee (Medical)||$90.00|
|Application Fee for Readmission 1|
|- Domestic Undergraduate||$70.00|
|- International Undergraduate||$70.00|
|- Domestic Graduate 4||$105.00|
|- International Graduate 4||$105.00|
|Advancement to Candidacy for Ph.D.||$90.00|
|Duplicate Diploma, School of Medicine||$125.00|
|Filing Fee (graduate programs; one-half Student Services Fee) 5||$188.00|
|Graduate Special Library Borrowing Privileges (per year, nonrefundable, renewable) 6||$50.00|
|Master's Thesis Electronic Submission Fee||$55.00|
|M.B.A. Acceptance of Admissions Deposit 1||$1,500.00|
|Transcript of Record (per copy)||$17.00|
|Undergraduate Acceptance of Admission deposit (nonrefundable; applied toward Student Services Fee) 1||$250.00|
|Verification of Student Status (per copy)||$17.00|
Nonrefundable in all cases.
The fee entitles an applicant to apply to one UC campus. Applicants who are applying to more than one campus must pay the fee for each campus selected.
The Application Fee for The Paul Merage School of Business is $150.
The Graduate Readmission Fee is only applicable to students whose status has lapsed during an academic quarter and are trying to be readmitted for the same quarter. Students whose status has lapsed and wish to return in a subsequent quarter must go through the entire application and admission process again and pay the applicable application fee.
The Filing Fee is one half of the quarterly Student Services Fee.
This fee entitles graduate students on Official Leave of Absence or Filing Fee Status to keep their library privileges.
Special Tuition and Fee Programs, Waivers, and Exemptions
The PACE Installment Plan allows students to spread the quarterly costs of tuition and fee payment over a three-month period. A fee is charged for this privilege. Information about PACE is available at the Campus Billing Services website.
Part-time study for credit leading to an undergraduate or graduate degree is available in some academic units. To take advantage of reduced tuition and fees for part-time status, quarterly course enrollment is limited to 10 units or fewer for undergraduate students and to eight units or fewer for graduate students. Students enrolled in excess units after Friday of the third week of instruction are liable for full tuition and fees.
The same admissions standards that apply to full-time students apply to part-time students. Under University policy, academic deans (the Dean of the Division of Undergraduate Education, for Undecided/Undeclared students; the Dean of Graduate Studies, for graduate students) may approve Petitions for Part-Time Status only for reasons of occupation, family responsibilities, or health.
Undergraduate and graduate students on approved part-time status pay the full Student Services Fee and one-half of Tuition. Those part-time students who have been determined to be nonresidents of the State of California are assessed one-half the Nonresident Supplemental Tuition, in addition to the full Student Services Fee and one-half of Tuition. Part-time students pursuing a professional degree are assessed one-half the Professional Degree Supplemental Tuition, the full Student Services Fee, and one-half of Tuition.
Part-time status lapses at the end of each academic year; therefore, a student must reapply each year that part-time status is desired. See the University Registrar’s website for more information.
Undergraduate petitions are available from academic counselors or the University Registrar’s Office; graduate students may obtain further information and petitions from the Graduate Division. All students are encouraged to consult with the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships regarding minimum unit requirements.
Students who are career employees at UCI or the University of California, Irvine Medical Center are eligible for a two-thirds reduction of the Student Services Fee, Tuition, and campus-based fees. This applies for up to nine units or three regular session University courses per quarter, whichever is greater. For staff employees, additional information and the Employee Application for Reduced Fees is available from Human Resources. Academic employees should contact the Office of Academic Personnel.
See the California Residence and Nonresident Supplemental Tuition section below for information about exemptions from Nonresident Supplemental Tuition.
A student who is a child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a resident law enforcement officer or fire fighter killed in active duty shall be exempted from nonresident supplemental tuition and mandatory system wide fees in accordance with Section 68120 of the Education Code of the State of California.
In accordance with Section 66025.3 of the Education Code of the State of California, a resident student may be exempted from mandatory system wide tuition and fees if:
- The student is the child or dependent of a veteran of the United States military who has a service-connected disability or who has been killed in service;
- The student is the dependent of a member of the California National Guard who, while in active service of the State, has acquired a service-connected disability or has been killed in service; or
- The student is the surviving spouse (who has not remarried) or registered domestic partner (who has not married or registered as a domestic partner) of a member of the California National Guard who, while in active service of the State, has acquired a service-connected disability or has been killed in service.
A nonresident student who meets the requirements of Section 68130.5 of the Educational Code of the State of California regarding attendance and graduation from a California high school shall be exempt from paying nonresident supplemental tuition.
All students who have not lived in California with the intent to make California their permanent home for more than one calendar year prior to the residence determination date for each quarter or semester they propose to attend the University must pay Nonresident Supplemental Tuition. The residence determination date is the day instruction begins at the last of the University of California campuses to open for the quarter, and for schools on the semester system, the day instruction begins for the semester.
The rules regarding residence classification for tuition purposes at the University of California are governed in accordance to the California Educational Code and the Standing Orders of the Regents of the University of California and are implemented through the University of California Residence Policy and Guidelines. UC's Residence Policy and Guidelines are available at the Office of General Counsel website.
Adult students (at least 18 years of age) may establish residence for tuition purposes in California if they are a U.S. citizen, a permanent resident or other immigrant, or a nonimmigrant who is not precluded from establishing a domicile in the U.S. This includes nonimmigrants who hold valid visas of the following types: A, E, H-1, H-4, I, K, L, O-1, O-3, R, T, U, or V.
To establish residence a student must, immediately prior to the residence determination date:
- Be physically present in California for more than one calendar year, and
- Must have come to California with the intent to make California the permanent home. For example, physical presence within the state of California solely for educational purposes does not constitute the establishment of California residence regardless of the length of stay.
- Students under 24 years of age whose parents are not residents of California will be required to meet the Financial Independence requirement in order to be classified as a resident for tuition purposes.
Residence cannot be derived from a spouse.
The financial independence requirement will not be a factor in residence determination if the student meets one of the following criteria:
- The student’s parents upon whom the student is financially dependent, are residents of California.
- At least 24 years of age by December 31 of the calendar year of the term for which resident classification is requested.
- Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces.
- A ward of the court or both parents are deceased.
- Has legal dependents other than a spouse or registered domestic partner.
- A married or registered domestic partner student, a graduate student, or a professional student who was not claimed as an income tax deduction by parents or any other individual for the tax year immediately preceding the term for which resident classification is requested.
- Financial independence is not a factor in residence status for graduate student instructors, graduate student teaching assistants, research assistants, junior specialists, postgraduate researchers, graduate student researchers, and teaching associates who are employed 49 percent or more of full time in the term for which resident classification is requested.
- An unmarried undergraduate student, not claimed as an income tax deduction by parents or any other individual for the two tax years immediately preceding the term for which resident classification is requested, who can demonstrate self-sufficiency for those years.
- Reached the age of majority in California while his/her parents were residents of this state and the California resident parents leave the state to establish a residence elsewhere and the student continues to reside in California after the parents’ departure.
Relevant indicia that contribute to the demonstration of a student’s intent to make California the permanent home include, but are not limited to, the following: registering to vote and voting in California elections; designating a California permanent address on all records (i.e., school, employment, military); obtaining a California Driver License or California Identification Card; obtaining a California vehicle registration; paying California income taxes as a resident (including taxes on income earned outside California from the date California residence was established); maintaining a California residence in which personal belongings are kept; licensing for professional practice in California; and the absence of these indicia in places other than California during any period for which residence in California is asserted.
The residence of the parent with whom an unmarried minor (under the age of 18) lives is the residence of the unmarried minor. When the unmarried minor does not live with either parent, the residence of the unmarried minor is that of the parent with whom the unmarried minor last lived. An unmarried minor may establish his or her own residence when both parents are deceased and a legal guardian has not been appointed unless the unmarried minor is a minor non-citizen who is precluded by the Immigration and Nationality Act from establishing domicile in the U.S. The residence of an unmarried minor who has a parent living cannot be changed by the unmarried minor’s own act, by the appointment of a legal guardian, or by the relinquishment of a parent’s right of control.
- Parent of Minor Moves from California. If the California resident parent(s) of an eligible minor moves from California, the minor will be entitled to resident classification as long as the minor enrolls full-time in a California public postsecondary institution within one calendar year of the parent’s departure, and remains physically present in California. This classification will continue until the minor has attained the age of majority and has resided in California for the minimum time required to become a resident. The Financial Independence requirement does not apply to this situation.
- Self-Supporting Minor. Minor students who are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens may be eligible for resident classification if documentation of physical presence, intent to be a California resident, and self-support through the student’s own employment or credit is provided for the entire calendar year prior to the residence determination date.
- Two-Year Care and Control. Minor students who are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens may be eligible for resident classification if they have lived with and been under the continuous care and control of an adult or series of adults other than a parent for not less than two calendar years. The adult or series of adults must have been responsible for care and control for the entire two-year period and must be California residents for 366 days prior to the residence determination date of the term for which resident classification is requested. Contact the Residence Officer for additional criteria necessary to qualify under this provision.
Students for whom any of the following conditions apply may be eligible for an exemption from Nonresident Supplemental Tuition.
- Member of the Armed Forces, dependent spouse, registered domestic partner, or child. A student on active duty as a member of the Armed Forces of the United States stationed in California, and their spouses or registered domestic partner, and dependent children. An undergraduate who is the natural or adopted child, stepchild, spouse, or registered domestic partner who is the dependent of a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, stationed in California on active duty, may be entitled to an exemption from the nonresident supplemental tuition. Graduate and professional school students are also entitled to this exemption under both state and federal regulations.
- Child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a faculty member. The spouse, registered domestic partner, or unmarried, dependent child under age 21 of a member of the University faculty who is a member of the Academic Senate may be eligible for an exemption from nonresident supplemental tuition.
- University employee or dependent child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a University employee. A student who is a full-time University employee who is permanently assigned to work outside the State of California or the unmarried, dependent child or the spouse or registered domestic partner of a full-time employee of the University of California who is permanently assigned to work outside the State of California (i.e., Los Alamos National Laboratory).
- Child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a deceased public law enforcement or fire suppression employee. A student who is the child, spouse, or registered domestic partner of a deceased public law enforcement or fire suppression employee, who was a California resident and was killed in the course of law enforcement or fire suppression duties.
- Dependent child of a California resident. A student who has not been an adult resident for more than one year and is the natural or adopted, dependent child of a California resident who has been a resident for more than one year immediately prior to the residence determination date. The student must also maintain full-time attendance in a California public postsecondary institution.
- Graduate of a California school operated by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs (B.I.A.). A student who is a graduate of a California school operated by the B.I.A. (i.e., Sherman Indian High School) and who enrolls at the University of California.
- Employee of California public school district. A student holding a valid credential authorizing service in California public schools and employed by a school district in a full-time certificate position.
- Student athlete in training at U.S. Olympic Training Center, Chula Vista. An amateur student athlete in training at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, until the student has resided in California the minimum time necessary to become a resident.
- Graduate of California high school (AB 540). A student who attended high school in California for three or more years (9th grade included), does not hold a valid nonimmigrant visa, and graduated from California high school (or attained the equivalent).
- Congressional Medal of Honor recipient. An undergraduate student under age 27 who is the recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor or a child of a recipient who at the time of his or her death was a California resident.
- Surviving dependents of 9/11 terrorist attacks. Undergraduate students who are the surviving dependents of a California resident who was killed in the 9/11/01 terrorist attacks of the World Trade Center, the Pentagon Building, or the crash of United Airlines flight 93.
If a nonresident student is in the process of establishing a domicile in California and returns to his or her former home during noninstructional periods, the student’s presence in California will be presumed to be solely for educational purposes and only convincing evidence to the contrary will rebut this presumption. Students who are in the State of California solely for educational purposes will not be classified as residents for tuition purposes regardless of their length of stay in California.
If a student who has been classified as a resident for tuition purposes leaves California temporarily, the absence could result in the loss of California residence. The burden of proof is on the student to demonstrate through documentation that he or she (or the parents if the student is a minor) did nothing inconsistent with a claim of continuing California residence during a temporary absence. Steps that should be taken to retain California residence include, but are not limited to:
- Continue to use a California address on all records (educational, employment, military, among others).
- Continue to satisfy California tax obligations. A student claiming California residence is liable for payment of income taxes on his or her total income from the date he or she begins to establish residence in California, including income earned in another state or country.
- Retain a California voter’s registration and vote by absentee ballot.
- Maintain a California Driver License, California Identification Card, and vehicle registration in California. If it is necessary to change the driver’s license or vehicle registration, it must be changed back to California in the time prescribed by law.
Continuing students who are classified as nonresidents for tuition purposes, and who believe that they will be eligible for resident status for an upcoming quarter, must submit a Petition for Resident Classification to the University Registrar in order to have their residence status changed before they submit their tuition and fee payment for the applicable quarter. Students must initiate all changes of status before the submission deadline of the quarter for which they want to be reclassified. (Specific deadline dates are listed on the University Registrar’s website). Students are strongly encouraged to submit their petition at the earliest possible date in order to expedite the review process. As long as submission deadlines are met, students may be allowed a period of time no later than the end of the quarter to provide any additional documentation required for residence determination.
Any student found to be incorrectly classified as a resident is subject to nonresident classification and to payment of all previously unpaid Nonresident Fees. If a student has concealed information or furnished false information, and was classified incorrectly as a result, the student is also subject to University discipline. Resident students who become nonresidents of California must immediately notify the UCI Residence Officer.
Inquiries regarding residence requirements, determination, and/or recognized exceptions should be directed to the:
University of California, Irvine
215 Aldrich Hall
Irvine, CA 92697-4975
or to the:
Office of the General Counsel
1111 Franklin Street, 8th Floor
Oakland, CA 94607-5200
No other University personnel are authorized to supply information relative to residence requirements for tuition fee purposes.
This summary is not a complete explanation of the law regarding residence classification. Additional information is available from the University Registrar. Changes may be made in the residence requirements between the publication of this statement and the relevant residence determination date. Any student, following a final decision on residence classification by the Residence Officer, may file an application to appeal in writing to the Office of the General Counsel within 30 days of notification of the Residence Officer’s final decision.
Tuition and Fee Refunds
Students who pay tuition and fees for a regular academic term and then decide to withdraw from the University must submit a Withdrawal form, complete with the signature of their academic dean. Undergraduate students must submit the form to the University Registrar; graduate students to the Graduate Division; medical students to the Curricular Affairs Office in the School of Medicine; law students to the Law School Registrar’s Office. This form serves two purposes:
- A refund of tuition and fees, if applicable; and
- Withdrawal from classes.
The effective date of withdrawal is used in determining the percentage of tuition and fees to be refunded. This date is normally the date that the student submits the form to the appropriate dean for approval. It is presumed that no University services will be provided to the student after that date. Tuition and fees are refunded as follows.
Prior to and including the first day of instruction, tuition and fees are refunded in full, except for
- A $10 service charge for continuing and readmitted students, or the $100 Acceptance of Admission Fee for new undergraduate students, or the applicable deposit fee for new health sciences and M.B.A. students, and
- The Student Health Insurance Fee. (The Student Health Insurance Fee is refunded only if the Withdrawal form is submitted prior to the first day of the quarter.) Students should bear in mind that the “first day of the quarter” often is several days prior to the “first day of instruction.” Refer to the Academic Calendar for exact dates.
A refund of the Medical Student Disability Insurance Fee (if applicable) may be requested.
After the first day of instruction, the tuition and fee refund is prorated as shown (with the exception of the Health Insurance Fee).
|Calendar days (beginning with the first day of instruction)||Refund|
|over 35||no refund|
New students receiving Federal Financial Aid follow the refund schedule outlined below.
|Calendar days (beginning with the first day of instruction)||Refund|
|over 42||no refund|
Financial aid recipients should see the UCI Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships Student Withdrawal Policy, or consult their Policies and Conditions website.
Claims for a refund of tuition and fees must be presented during the fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) in which the claim is applicable. Refund checks are issued by the Accounting Office approximately three weeks after the official notice of withdrawal is initiated.
Law students follow refund schedules set by the School of Law. Refer to the School of Law website for further information.
Housing refunds are subject to the terms of the applicable housing agreement.